Motivational Monday: Trust Your Gut

Trust me when I say, “You need to listen to your gut feelings.”

Through my years of work I have learned I need to follow the processes in place and the rules that govern the work, but along will following the rules comes experience and knowing, even if you followed the process something isn’t quite right. That’s your gut telling you to take a step back and reevaluate.

When it comes to work, this is easy. Maybe, because of my years working for defense companies. it is now ingrained in me. When my gut said the work wasn’t finished but the engineers said it was, there was nearly always an argument (mostly in my head). I could never prove the software wasn’t going to work because the engineers and testers said they tested it. Problem was, they never tested in an environment which mimicked the customer’s. To me, it was a simple deduction that it wasn’t going to work correctly nor completely. Before I left that job I was able to convince the lead engineer that he was doing it wrong. It did take three failed builds in a row for him to finally see what I had been trying to get across. The fourth build he made was successful. I left the company soon after that round of builds so I have no idea if he kept up the changes we put in place together. I can only hope he did and that over time all builds in the routine worked flawlessly.

How does this concept  relate to my non-work life? Good question. I’m still trying to figure it out myself. At work there are  clear rules. At home-not so much. My gut has too many problems to listen to it. I do know better than I wind up doing. There are days when it doesn’t matter what I know, the only thing that will satisfy is chocolate, not protein rich meals. Not going for a walk to release the emotions. Only chocolate !!

I’m working on myself through a series of blog posts to set my brain in the right place.  I am going to be repeating myself here, but I need to hear it again and maybe you do too. High intensity interval training is something I need to add to my weekly routine .  How much is the right amount? More than what I get now, that’s for sure. So, I am going against my normal gut reaction to just sit on the couch and relax. I have plenty of time after work to work out, I just need to get up and do it. My body is tired and wants to do nothing else most nights after work, but maybe if I don’t stop right after I get home I can keep the momentum of the day going all the way into the home gym. My body is going to have to learn (as is my brain). And fast. It is time to break a sweat and get more fit… in body and mind.

I’m going to start working out, even if in short bits, to get myself back on the right track.

Hope you’ll join me on the journey and tell me how yours is going along the way.

Leave a Reply

