Thankful Thursday: Thanksgiving Edition

Hello and welcome to Thankful Thursday: Thanksgiving Edition.

I know you’re all busy doing stuff with your family (those by blood, marriage, or choice), and I will be in a few hours as well.  I wanted to take this early morning time to let you know what I am thankful for this year.  I’m not sure how long the list is, so let’s just see where it takes us.  Let me acknowledge first that I am always thankful for my family and friends and I hope I tell them all enough that they don’t feel left out if they are not specifically mentioned below. This year (11/2013-11/2014) has been an interesting one and a few things must be called out.

  • Husband. My rock, my hero, my protector, my transporter, my fan, my soul mate. You will always get top billing on the list.  I love you.
  • Samantha. My first born. I am thankful you were in our lives for a very long time. You taught me what it is to love a furbaby and how to be a fur-mom.  I miss your “cute alerts” and even your paw licking.  I am thankful we were your parents. I miss you every day.
  • Annie. My second born, my excited tinkler, my therapy dog, my dog that “moos”, my vocal puppy.  You, snugglebutt, are a great addition to the family. 
  • My Aunt Annie.  I haven’t met her (that I can remember — maybe once upon a time when I was 1??), but she emails with me every week about every topic under the sun. It’s is a bond I never knew and glad I know it now.  She is also a fan of my writing.  She is pushing me to write more. She’s answering questions for me and giving me insights I didn’t know I needed.
  • New Friends. Each has a different part of my heart. So many of them cross over and became friends themselves. My heart is like a Venn Diagram of Love.  Several from work, several from where I life, and several from friends of friends. I am happy to have you in my life. I hope you don’t mind I have been a bit busy to make time for extra curricular fun. 
  • Work. Yes, everyone should be thankful they have work, which means income and stability. Not having work is what birthed this blog. Having work takes me away from it.  I think you all understand the importance of the income and are accepting of my absences.  My new job is opening doors (or windows) for new opportunities for growth.  I learn about how my company operates, what we make, how we make it, who’s involved, how I can make improvements, etc. etc. etc. This is a job I can see growing into and truly enjoying for what may be the rest of my work life.
  • Followers. You make me happy when I see you like my post or a new follower comes on board to The Involuntary Housewife.  Hopefully none of you mind I don’t talk about food as much as I hoped to!
  • Stuff. Yes, I am thankful for the “stuff” we have. Like our house, our car, our truck, the ability water the yard to grow food (even if I’m not the best at it yet), my laptop, my Kindle Papewhite, even the new electric blanket I am covered in while typing this.  It may sound a little ‘small’ on the grand scheme of being Thankful, but it’s true.  “Stuff” like the internet, Facebook, or WordPress all brought us together and I am thankful for that.
  • NaNoWriMo. Without it I never would have made any progress in the two books I want to write. Last year I made it to 50k. This year, probably not, but I made more progress than I would have if I didn’t participate.

This isn’t a complete list. I have to go work on the turkey so I need to cut it short.  I will continue my Thankful Thursdays, don’t worry about that, and you’ll get to see more about what I am thankful for as the year goes on.

Happy Thanksgiving. I hope you spend it in a way that fulfills you.

If you have a moment to be thankful, here, publicly, please tell us what you’re thankful for in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

