Birthday 2014

If you know me, you know I love personal holidays. Weddings, Anniversaries, and Birthdays.  Today — is my BIRTHDAY!!!!

I rolled around sometime this morning and the hubby groggily says, “Happy Birthday,” to me.  A big smile came across my face along with a hug.  I think. I remember hearing him, feeling his endless love, and maybe I fell back asleep.  The point is – he always remembers and always loves me and I always know it.

I popped open the computer or the phone and I had way over 50 posts on my personal Facebook page this morning. They keep rolling in. Just pouring in the love.  My peoples love me!! How sweet. Thank you!

A few weeks ago a present was delivered and I waited and waited and waited to open it! My Mom In Law bought me my favorite things – SOCKS! Wahoo!!! When TWO boxes arrived, I nearly fainted.  I don’t have room for all these socks! Who cares? I now I have enough socks to get me through the dullest of days.  Don’t believe me? Just look at this booty!

 

A gazillion socks
A gazillion socks

My socks were followed by an amazing breakfast with my In Laws and the hubby.  We had been to this place once before. It has been at least 2.5 years since we were at Snooze, in Hillcrest.  This is a San Diego favorite, in my opinion!  It’s worth the drive. Our server was adorable with his dreadlocks and round glasses. He was so smiley and helpful. Awesome way to start the meal.  I looked at the menu and my eyes instantly drew to the Benedict section. Oh… that’s what I had last time! Bella Bella Benny! Mmmm Sooooooo amazing! It looks great here, but it tasted even better.  

Bella! Bell! Benny
Bella! Bell! Benny

Bella! Bella! Benny

Thin slices of prosciutto, Taleggio cheese, and perfectly poached eggs on toasted ciabatta, topped with cream cheese hollandaise, balsamic glaze and arugula. Ciao Bella!

The meal was simply delicious.  The balsamic glaze really puts this dish over the edge.  The baby arugula is nowhere near spicy (like my home grown stuff). The cream cheese hollandaise is creamy as all hollandaise should be, but it’s thick and didn’t separate. It was sweet but savory all at the same time. The flavors and textures were in a word… perfection.

I haven’t even told you about today’s special pancake flavor.  Pumpkin batter with caramel, dusted with a nutty crumble with a SCOOP of mascarpone. O. M. G.  It pretty much was amazing.

 

Today on the Birthday Edition of the Michele Show
Today on the Birthday Edition of the Michele Show

Could I get much closer to the plate?  As a dear friend described the photo above:

I don’t know why you bother with that fork.  Your face is almost in the plate already.  Why not just bulldoze in?

Here’s what it looked like before I bulldozed it!  And bulldoze it, I did!

Pumpkin Deliciousness
Pumpkin Deliciousness

Check out Snooze AM eatery here: http://snoozeeatery.com/our-story/

 

Thanks everyone for enjoying my morning with me. Time to snuggle with the family under my new electric blanket, a movie, and probably some more breakfast (for dinner).

Leave a Reply

