The last week

This is my last week of being unemployed.  Wow.  Now that it is right around the corner, I am anxious and excited.  A little scared too.

Will I be good enough? Will I learn quickly? Did I buy the right clothes? Are my chunky flats going to be ok? And when did I start caring about clothes and shoes? Will I be able to make it through 9 hour work days?  What will my schedule be?  Who’s going to cook dinner? Ahhhhhh!!!

Will Annie enjoy doggy day camp? Should I go to the office supply store and buy things I really love for my desk and organization? Am I over thinking all of this?

Maybe I am, but I also think it means I am more than excited and interested in this job.  I am spending all of these pre-job thoughts on it… I am not sure I have spent this much time preparing in my future career. Ever. 

I realized yesterday, while reading a Project Management text book my new boss wants me to read, that I didn’t fall asleep! I tend to fall asleep when reading technical / work books. Yes!!!  This is a huge change for me. 

This is the turning point I need. I wasn’t sure what change I needed. I thought I knew what I wanted.  Now that this opportunity has come my way, I truly feel this is the one. 

I very often thought I would be satisfied being the full time dog mom I have been. I would enjoy it, don’t get me wrong, but would it fulfill me – enough? I haven’t been writing like I said I would.  I have felt a lot of stress lately, and that stifles my creativity, but is that reason enough to not write while I have the time?

I still have stories in me and I believe they will come out, when they are ready.

Now, right now, I will strive to be the best project manager I can be. I look forward to the challenges ahead.  I will keep reading, learning, and practicing to be the best that I can be.

This does not mean I am giving up the blog.  I will do my very best to continue Thankful Thursdays on Thursday.  I will write when I am inspired, but learning new skills will take top priority.  Stick with me on this journey and let’s see where it takes us!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. It will still be here when you are ready. Enjoy the journey. Write when you want to, not because you have to. 😉

Leave a Reply

