2014 Writing Resolutions

Thanks to The Books of Jobe Blog for his post on My Writing Resolutions for 2014, I now have some of my own.  I have some personal, non-writing related resolutions that I may mention in the future, but right now we’re discussing My Writing Resolutions for 2014. =)

1. Write 30,000 words a month while my book(s) is (are) still being written.
Once a book is written it will require lots of reviewing and editing and I don’t foresee a lot of writing happening during that phase.  If I can write 50K in one month with a Holiday and a Birthday mixed in, I think 30,000 is a reasonable number for an average month.  I have plenty of stuff rolling around in my head, I’m just not letting it out like I was in November… I think I was in a better mental health state then.

NaNoWriMo 2013 Winner
NaNoWriMo 2013 Winner

2. Read books on writing.
I have been stalling on reading books on writing.  I don’t want to learn that I am no good at this, so I have been avoiding it.  I feel now is the time to start reading books on writing memoirs and other writing books that will help me hone my craft.

Only two resolutions?   Yep, that’s it.  I have some other things going on in life that also need attention (maybe more than my writing?) and I don’t want to push myself to an edge I from where I will disgracefully plummet.

What resolutions are you thinking of? When do they start? Will you post about them?

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for the shout out! Like I said before, I really like the word count goal you’ve set. It’s definitely reasonable. Good luck with everything, and here’s to more writing!

Leave a Reply

