Live Forever. Please?

Remember that post (That I can’t seem to find now) about cherishing every day — Specifically to cherish every day with your older pets?  I mean it!

Samantha, had two seizures a VERY LONG time ago when she was just a toddler, but we weren’t there for the events.  She was at a kennel / doggy day care while we were on a long weekend vacation.  It was the first time we let her be with anyone besides us.  I will admit to being a Helicopter Mom back then (and still am with her to this day).  She was “out of it” and didn’t even know who we were on the day of the seizures.  We went back to the emergency vet in the morning to pick her up after observation and she was totally “normal” again.  We watched her closely. She knew who we were instantly and urinated all over the place while wagging her delight.  We accepted it gratefully.

Two weeks ago, watching her seize, I think it was the second most traumatic time in my life.  Yes. She is my first born child and her having a massive seizure counts as major trauma in my life.  Having my husband lose half his blood due to complications from a major surgery is the first. They rate close to equal for me — I love them both that much.

How I recall what happened two weeks ago:

We girls were all outside – doing the potty thing, just enjoying the cool air, and all of a sudden I heard Sammy on her back.  She likes to rub on her back, we call it “Cute Alert!” She really seems to like to roll over, scratching her back, legs flopping in the air, all while making those happy grunting noises she does so well.  I thought she was doing that.

Then I saw that she was twitching.  Her left side of her body was tight, her face was scrunched up on her left side. A Stoke?

Then I see she’s foaming at the mouth.

I hollered for MMC Racing. He was in the front office on the phone with his mom.

I got closer to Sam and said. “Daddy NOW come here NOW!” (or something like that) Then I think a realized she was having an actual seizure – I SCREAMED – “DADDY, SAMMY IS HAVING A SIEZURE GET OUT HERE NOW!” Thank goodness the windows were open in the house and the hallway is a straight shot to the living room windows.  “Mom, I gotta go!” and then he was out there.

I put my hands on her to try to calm her, but was also trying to hold Annie back to give Sam space. We were talking to her trying to calm her down. It looked like she wasn’t breathing, like maybe she was choking on something.  He smacked her on the back a bit to try to get her to cough it up. No go.

He then stood her upright and held her close. The seizure was still going.

I put Annie in her crate and came back outside. The seizure stopped. Mark held her close and talked to her more, telling her what a good girl she was.  We were both in tears.

I called the vet. Closed. They had an outgoing voice message that has the ER number… I had no pen and no memory. I went inside to call back and write it down.

Mark calls to me that Sam is walking around. WHAT?! Yes. Sam wanted down and to walk around, away from him. She was weak and a little lopsided, but standing on her own.  We were both still crying and freaked out. Annie was yelping in the house. I got Sam water with ice. She gulped it down happily. Then we got her some canned food. She chomped that quickly.  She was much more calm and happy. She was ready to go inside. Yep, she walked her wobbly butt screen door and was ready to be in the house. We were still freaked out. It was like Sam “got over it” and she was looking at us like “What’s wrong?” because we were hovering and watching and whispering about her status.

 

This morning, I’m not really sleeping for whatever reason. Annie is in her crate. Mark is sleeping next to me.  I hear Sammy making noises.  I thought she was trying to wake me up to go outside.  I reach for her. She’s not where I expect her. She’s still making noises.  I reach for the phone to shine a light on the floor. She’s seizing.  “Mark, I think Sam is having a seizure,” I say somewhat calmly. (At least that is how I remember it 1.5 hours later). I look at her in the dark, with no glasses on, and confirm it is. “Mark, it is. Get up,” I say (or something like that).  He’s up. We’re both waking and trying to remember what to do. I felt frozen.  Mark immediately picked her up and started talking to her and telling her good things and asking if she wanted to go for a walk.  We had read up on how to treat a seizure for a dog and research said to talk to them and try to give them commands they know to get their brain “out of it” and back into reality.  While he did that, I found my glasses, and grabbed an ice pack for her neck and ice water for her to drink. Also things we learned two weeks ago.  We hung out with her and calmed her down. MMC Racing says she came out of it a LOT quicker than last time.  Time stood still for me, so I have no idea.

We basically did the same thing – ice water to drink, walked her on a leash to help keep her steady in the back yard, and fed her some yummy kibble.

I type this up 1.5 hours after the seizure. Samantha and Annie are both sleeping in their respective corners in the office with me, while Daddy continues to nap (if that is even possible) so he can be well rested for work later in the morning.

Cherish your fur babies and every moment you have with them, even the bad ones.  You will probably out live these kids, so capture every moment in your heart, with a camera, with a video, with whatever means required. Too soon, the memories will be all you have left to hold on to.

I love you dearly, Miss Samantha Michele. I hope you feel I have been a good mom and that you let me be your mom for a LOT LONGER!  Be a good girl and live forever.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Oh man that’s so sad. I always say how much I wish pets lived as long as humans. It’s not fair that they don’t. They are better than humans in so many ways…they deserve long happy lives. I hope yours lives a much longer and seizure-free life <333

Leave a Reply

