The Bathroom

I had intended to have all kinds of energy to do the deep cleaning that just never seems to get done around the house.  I did one deep clean thing.  I managed to clean the pink slime from the shower. Yes yes, I know. Pink moldy stuff isn’t a good thing, but we had it.  When we moved to the house we’re in now, we opted out of affording a maid.  Boo! I never wanted to get rid of her, but I am so glad we moved here.

I used what I had on hand and what I learned from Pinterest. After all, I am on a budget, and I need to try to use what I have before buying something new.

I had tried cleaning it with a bleach and water combination. I sprayed on the grout and I scrubbed it with a toothbrush. Nothing.  Still pink, no joy.

I tried straight bleach on the grout. Then I scrubbed it.  Still nothing. What?! How could straight bleach NOT clear out mold?  I thought bleach was the end all be all of cleaning up nasty stuff?  Grumble.

MMC Racing had sworn by Scrubbing Bubbles stuff when we were first married and I am sure had some of it in our cleaning cabinet in the past, but I had none when I needed it.  I broke down and found a coupon for scrubbing bubbles.  I picked up two products hoping one of them would work.

I grabbed the shower “wide spray” cleaner.  I set my timer to the max time the canister recommended leaving the smelly concoction on the tiles and grout.  If I was a praying girl, this is when I was praying to those cute cartoony scrubbing bubbles on the commercials. Come on bubbles, get that pink slime!! Get it good!!

I slouched on the bed flipping the music channels while I waited, losing myself in the trance of the dance station.  When the timer went: Boing! Boing! Boing! I leapt to my feet with excitement and nervousness. 

Halleluiah! Halleluiah! They worked!!  Those little cartoony bubbles DID IT!

I proceeded to finish the whole shower. While I waited for the bubbles to do their job, I found the interest, energy, and cleanser for the sinks.  Amazing how white things can get if you just try to clean them!

Just writing this post has made me excited to go clean something else and hope it sparkles when I’m done.

What concoctions have you found to work the best and / or what are your favorite store bought products for cleaning the bathroom?

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Scrubbing Bubbles are on my list of “The Top Ten Products I wouldn’t want to live without” on ADDandSoMuchMore.com (except I despise the new cap design). I’m going to back-link your article to that one AND to a new list of Ten More in draft — I’ll ping you when links go live.

    To answer your question — and this is beyond weird:

    Denture Cleaner Tablets

    Seriously, they are formulated to keep stains off dentures, and foam like Alka Seltzer. I get ’em by the case-lot whenever somebody is having a close-out sale. Drop one (or more) in your toilet bowl (but not if you have “blue water” already), wait, swish with a brush — amazing!

    You can also dissolve in an on-the-rocks glass of warm water, which the directions recommend (the water, not the rocks glass, but I’ve found the less water you use, the better it cleans) Then use it like a cleaning solution for stains on sinks, tubs, counters, etc.

    I’ve never tried it on grout stains, but I’ll bet it would work there too, once you’ve killed the mildew with bleach and let it dry COMPLETELY to avoid any possible chemical interactions

    (hey, I think I’ve found one of my new tens)

    Fun article – thanks!
    ~~~~~
    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CMC, SCAC, MCC
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    (blogs: ADDandSoMuchMore, ADDerWorld & ethosconsultancynz – dot com)
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

Leave a Reply

