Getting Zesty on a Monday Night!

 I have cooked two dinners in the past week. Don’t faint. It has happened before, and I am sure it will happen again.  It has been rare in the last month though, I will concede to that much.  I know MMC was thankful for not having to cook on a Monday night after a full day of work.

 Late last week I found a version of this recipe in my “Recipes We Haven’t Tried Yet” binder.  Since I had most of these things on hand already, I decided to grab the fresh and perishable items and make this tonight.

 I do not know where I got the basic recipe from; I added the pepper, garlic, and mushrooms.

 Crockpot Italian Chicken

 Ingredients

4 chicken breasts

1 packet Zesty Italian dressing seasoning

1 8 oz. cream cheese (softened)

2 cans cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup – recommend the lowest sodium version

Fresh ground pepper, to taste

3 garlic cloves, halved (optional)

8oz. (or more) mushrooms, halved (optional)

Parmesan cheese, shredded, to taste

Milk (as needed)

Crock Pot liner (optional)

¾ cup per person, Rotini or other pasta that holds sauce well

 Cooking Instructions

  1. Season chicken with part of Italian Dressing packet. Add meat to crock pot.
  2. Add cream cheese through mushrooms and the rest of the seasoning mix to crockpot.
  3. Cover. Cook on LOW for 3.5 hours.
  4. Add parmesan cheese to crock pot. Cook for up to 30 more minutes. If sauce is too thick, add a little milk.
  5. Cook pasta. Drain Pasta. Return to pot.
  6. Ladle some sauce from crock pot over pasta. Swirl to coat.
  7. Plate Pasta. Spoon chicken and mushroom mixture over pasta.
  8. Sprinkle additional parmesan on top, if desired.

 We didn’t plate this very well. I’ll get better, I promise! This was pre-Parmesan sprinkling. It was yummy.

???????????????????????????????

Cleanup was a breeze for the crock pot since I used a liner.  It did leak, but nothing stuck to the crock! YEAH!

 Let me know if you make this and what you changed or would change next time.

Leave a Reply

